Tuition, Fees & Financial Aid

Tuition and fees are established by the DCC Board of Trustees and are subject to change by its action.

No deposit is needed to register for classes; payment in full is required by the stated tuition due date, prior to the start of each semester. Students are responsible for ensuring that their bills are completely covered by payment, authorized financial aid, payment plan or a third party. Students who do not pay their accounts in full by the due date will be dropped from classes for non-payment and will not be able to reregister until full payment is made. For more information on our payment policies, please visit

To help you meet your educational expenses, Dutchess Community College offers the Quikpay Payment Plan as a convenient way to pay your semester charges. This is not a loan program. There are no interest or finance charges assessed and there is no credit check. This is a semester-based plan and is easy to enroll in through your myDCC account. Once you set up your plan, payments are made automatically. Further information about the plan can be obtained from the Office of Student Financial Services or on the web through your myDCC account.

Tuition for Full-Time Students (over 11 credits)+

New York State Resident†

$2,300.00 per semester


$4,600.00 per semester

High school/homeschool students***

$64.00 per credit hour

Student Activity Fee

$5.00 per credit hour

Technology Fee

$13.00 per credit hour

Open Educational Resources Fee

$5.00 per student

Tuition for Part-Time Students (1-11 credits)+

New York State Resident†

$192.00 per credit hour


$384.00 per credit hour

High school/homeschool students***

$64.00 per credit hour

Student Activity Fee

$5.00 per credit hour

Technology Fee

$13.00 per credit hour

Open Educational Resources Fee

$5.00 per student

Miscellaneous Fees

Aviation (Pilot program) Fees¤

$8,500 - $35,550.00 per semester

Aviation Maintenance Technology Fee

$864 per course; $11,232.00 per semester

Background Check Fee**


Ceramic Materials Fee

$40.00 per applicable course

CLEP Exam Fee

$87.00 exam/ $35.00 service fee

Conduct Fines

$50-$150 per infraction


$85.00 exam/ $35.00 service fee

Equipment Breakage Fee

$10.00-$50.00 per applicable item

Exercise Science Exam Fee

$199 ESW 203/204/205

ID Card Replacement

$5.00 per replacement

ID Card Replacement (Housing)

$25.00 per replacement

Lab Fees

$17.00 - $40.00 per applicable course

Laboratory Nursery School‡

$2,300.00 per year

Late Payment Fee

$50.00 per semester

Late Registration*

$10.00 per semester

Library Fines

up to $5.00 per infraction

Lost Book Fee

$50.00 per infraction

Overdue Reserve Book

$50.00 lost charge


$50.00 lost charge

Audio Cables/Earbuds

$10.00 lost charge


$10.00 lost charge

Headphones (Films)

$35.00 lost charge


Replacement cost


$75.00 or replacement cost

Lost Article Fee

$10.00-$250.00 applicable item

Matriculation Fee


Non-Student Testing

$35.00 per exam

Paramedic Lab Fee

$75.00 per semester

Pearson Vue Exam


Physical Education Completion

$225.00 PED 118

Prof. Liability Insurance*

$12.00/$35.00 per year

Proficiency Exam Fee* 

$35.00 per exam

Red Cross Certification*

$5.00/$10.00/$30.00 applicable courses

Replacement Diploma

$15.00 per diploma

Returned Check Fee*

$25.00 per check

Second Degree Fee


SUNY International Student Health
Insurance Plan

SUNY state-wide rate

SUNY Learning Network 

$25.00 per course

Traffic Fines

$15.00/$25.00/$50.00 per infraction

Transcript Fee*

$8.00 per copy

Trip Fee (Study Abroad)

$90.00 per trip

Tuition Payment Plan Deferrment

$25.00 - $45.00 per semester

Music Lab Fees

Individual Lesson

$375.00 MUS 141, 142, 161, 162, 241, 242, 261, 262

Individual Lesson

$1,125 MUS 210, 211


NOTES: Students registered for 11 hours of course work or below are classified as part-time.
* Not Refundable
** Payment made directly to Certified Background by student.
*** Students 16 and over in their junior or senior year of high school or are being homeschooled, and are Dutchess or Putnam county residents.
+Tuition correct at time of posting; however, review and adjustment of tuition and fees may occur before the start of the 2022-2023 academic year. The tuition and fee schedule shown is for the 2022-2023 academic year. Tuition and fees are reviewed annually and are subject to change.

†To qualify for the NY State Resident rate, a student must have been a resident of New York State for one year immediately prior to registration. In addition, those who are not residents of Dutchess County must present a Certificate of Residence signed by the chief fiscal officer of the county or counties in which they have lived in the past six months. Without such a certificate or certificates, a student will be required to pay the Nonresident Tuition rate. Dutchess County residents must file an Affirmation of Dutchess County Residence (available in the Student Financial Services Office) to pay the resident tuition rate.

‡The College is authorized to reduce the basic fee for Laboratory Nursery School enrollment in accordance with established guidelines. Families unable to pay the basic fee are invited to contact the director of the DCC Laboratory Nursery School for further information.
¤Aviation fees are negotiated with flight school and may vary. 


Tuition and College Fee Refund Policy

Tuition is due on the due date of the student’s bill, but always before you begin attending classes. Students can pay their bills in full with cash, check, or credit cards. DCC also offers a payment plan, financial aid deferment (if the aid is showing on your bill), employer deferment, and other types of deferments. Any students considered unpaid as of their due date may be subject to a drop of the classes for which they are registered. Re-registration of a student’s schedule is not guaranteed if dropped for non-payment.

Refunds only for tuition and refundable fees will be granted upon the completion and submission of an official withdrawal form to the Registrar’s Office, either before classes begin, or during the published refund period. Simply notifying the classroom instructor or Dean of Student Services is insufficient. Any student who does not withdraw and remains unpaid at the end of the refund period will be liable for full tuition. Non-attendance does not limit student liability. 

Students dismissed for disciplinary reasons are not eligible for refunds, and if appropriate, will be subject to the Federal Title IV Withdrawal Policy. Students entering the armed forces will be refunded the full amount of their tuition for the semester in which their education is interrupted, upon submission of evidence of call to duty.

Per SUNY regulations, refunds of tuition and refundable fees will be made according to the following schedule:


Full Semester

Eight-week term or less

Prior to first day



During first week



During second week



During third week



After third week



Students are responsible for knowing the deadlines for withdrawal and abiding by them. When life-altering circumstances prevent timely withdrawal, a student may appeal by submitting a form available on The Student Financial Services tab of the myDCC portal. Additional information is available under Withdrawal of College or Courses in the Academic Information section of the College catalog.

Delinquent Accounts

Students will be billed electronically before the semester begins with a specific due date based on their date of registration. Students will be notified through their DCC email that a bill is available in QuikPay. The student is responsible for viewing and paying the bill online, or setting up an Authorized User (parent, guardian, etc.) who will pay the electronic bill by the date due.

Students with delinquent accounts over $100 at the end of the published refund period are subject to a $50 late payment fee. Holds will be placed on these accounts that will prevent future registrations and graduation. The account will be forwarded to our collection agency in a pre-collect status in which the agency will attempt to contact the student to receive payment. If the account remains unpaid at the end of the pre-collect period, it may be assigned full collection. The College will assign the outstanding balance, plus the collection agency fee and/or reasonable cost to the agency for collection. These fees may be between 25-50% of the unpaid balance and are the responsibility of the student, in addition to the principal amount owed to DCC.

Withdrawal Policy for Recipients of Federal Title IV Grants and Loans

This policy is per the U.S. Department of Higher Education and applies to students who receive assistance under Title IV funding and/or to parents who receive the Federal Parent PLUS loans for their children. Title IV funding for the purpose of this policy includes Federal Pell Grants, Stafford Loans, PLUS Loans, Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants (FSEOGs) and Federal Perkins Loans.

If a student withdraws or stops attending Dutchess Community College, either officially or unofficially, during the first 60% (approximately first 10 weeks) of the semester, a calculation is completed to determine how much Title IV funding has been earned. The earned amount is based on the percentage of the semester the student has completed. If the student has received (been disbursed) more Title IV funds than has been earned, the excess unearned funds must be returned to the U.S. Department of Education by the school and/or the student. 

The DCC Tuition and College Fee Refund Policy, as stated several paragraphs above, is used to determine the amount of college tuition and fees a student is charged. An example of applying both the DCC refund policy and the Federal Title IV refund policy to a student that withdraws or stops attending during the fifth week of classes follows. A student who withdraws or stops attending during the fifth week of classes will owe the College 100% of their tuition and fees (There is no reduction after the third week.) If the student was awarded $2,000 in Title IV funding he/she only would earn approximately 30% or $600 of this funding. If the student is full-time and has tuition and fee charges of $1,650 then he/she would still owe the College $1,050 ($1,650 less $600) after their Title IV funding was applied. DCC and/or the student must return the other $1,400 in Title IV funding to the Federal Department of Education. If the student is required to return some of these funds, it is possible he/she will not be eligible to receive Title IV funding at DCC or another college until the amount is paid.

Any questions regarding this policy should be directed to the Office of Student Financial Services.

Allowing Veterans to Attend or Participate in Courses Pending VA Payment

Section 103 of Public Law (PL) 115-407, ‘Veterans Benefits and Transition Act of 2018,’ amends Title 38 US Code 3679 by adding a new subsection (e) that requires disapproval of courses of education, beginning August 1, 2019, at any educational institution that does not have a policy in place that will allow an individual to attend or participate in a course of education, pending VA payment, providing the individual submits a certificate of eligibility for entitlement to educational assistance under Chapter 31 or 33.

Pending Payment Compliance

In accordance with Title 38 US Code 3679(e), Dutchess Community College adopts the following additional provisions for any students using U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Post-9/11 G.I. Bill® (Ch. 33) or Vocational Rehabilitation & Employment (Ch. 31) benefits, while payment to the institution is pending from VA. Dutchess Community College will not:

  • Prevent the student’s enrollment;

  • Assess a late penalty fee to the student;

  • Require the student to secure alternative or additional funding;

  • Deny the student access to any resources (access to classes, libraries, or other institutional facilities) available to other students who have satisfied their tuition and fee bills to the institution.

However, to qualify for this provision, such students may be required to:

  • Produce the VA Certificate of Eligibility (COE) by the first day of class;

  • Provide a written request to be certified;

  • Provide additional information needed to properly certify the enrollment as described in other institutional policies

GI Bill® is a registered trademark of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA).